Images, Copyright, and Creative Commons

Hello Everyone,

It has been almost a month since I last posted anything; graduate school is keeping me busy since I am taking two online classes for a degree in library media education and will start field work in a local elementary school library media center soon.

I am enjoying the 2014 Edublogs Teacher Challenge and have learned a great deal about image copyright and Creative Commons in Step 6. Images cannot be taken from the Internet and used in blog posts or classroom presentations without proper attribution. Please see The Edublogger’s Guide to Copyright, Fair Use, and Creative Commons for more detailed information. I believe for images to use in my classroom presentations I will rely on Compfight, a Flicker Search Tool, and the clipart provided by Microsoft Office, when I do not already have an appropriate image in my personal collection. Below is an image from Compfight with proper attribution beneath it (I hope).

Like flowers, everyone has the opportunity to grow!
White Daisy

Photo Credit: Mukumbura via Compfight cc

Enthusiastically,

Ms. Tyler